Is this a good thing?

Strange things have been happening. Today I bought a mug of hot chocolate while Dan was running the Circle the Bay 30K road race. (Yes, you read that correctly. 30K. The man is either a stud or a lunatic.) It came in a pretty clear glass cup with a nice mound of whipped cream on top and chocolate sprinkles. Really it was a thing of beauty. I sat in the lovely shop (Kafe 101 in Coos Bay) in a comfy couch and put my feet up on the ottoman. About 2/3 of the way through the hot chocolate I felt like I’d had enough. OK, here’s the thing. It is my deeply held belief that you cannot ever have “enough” hot chocolate. Never. It is one of the best things to put in your mouth ever invented. But I had had enough. And this wasn’t the first time this has happened since I started not multi-tasking while eating. Yesterday I actually threw out soup because I had eaten all of it I wanted. And this was potato cheese soup which I love. What is going on here? And is it a good thing? I suppose from a health standpoint, not overeating is a good thing. I am assuming that eating any more would have been overeating. But here’s the thing. I like to overeat. I like the feeling of food I love in my mouth. I want to eat more and more of it. I lift weights so I can overeat. And now that pleasure has been taken away. Well, there are only 25 more days left this month. I will either decide that it is a good thing after all and continue. Or I will stop and drink all the hot chocolate I can hold.

Leave a Reply

