Snow, snow, snow

OK, this is embarrassing. Here I am 51 years old and I am so excited I can hardly sit still. In act, I keep jumping up and down, clapping my hands with a goofy grin on my face. Why? It’s snowing. Hard. With big tongue-catching flakes! We already have about an inch on the ground, but more is falling. Now I know that all of you who live where it REALLY snows are laughing at me. But I don’t care. Snow here in coastal Florence, Oregon is a major treat, and I get positively giddy at just the thought of it. Dan and I went out in it this morning to walk down our hill to get our paper. Even though the county bladed our road at five this morning (I heard them), it has snowed since and the hill is a bit gnarly. One of our neighbors came up it in a 4-wheel drive truck and he spun most of the way. Anyway, I digress. Dan and I walked down the old road and it was magical. The little alders that have grown up in the six years since it was abandoned were covered in snow with a nice path through the middle. Not sure how long it will be until we can’t make our way through the old road, but it is so pretty. I was sorry that I had not grabbed my camera. But every time it snows I take pictures, so I have many multiple pictures of the same scenes. So I didn’t take my camera on that walk. Rats. I couldn’t resist a couple of pictures though. I took one at 7:30 this morning. The light was amazing and everything looked blue. Unfortunately the camera washed it all out. Then I just HAD to take a picture of the snow coming down. It is just all so fabulous. Had to put Christmas music on. And now I have to go. The snow has stopped and it’s time to build a snowman!

Leave a Reply

